"Then We revived you after your death, so that you may be appreciative." (Al-Baqarah: 56)
  • Friday 04, December 2020
ACE News Logo

Cricketers Receive Sitara-e-Imtiaz on Pakistan Day

Cricketers Receive Sitara-e-Imtiaz on Pakistan Day

On Friday, Pakistan's President, Mamnoon Hussain, presented the Pakistan Prizes at the President's House in Islamabad, while provincial governors presented prizes in the governor's house at respective provincial capitals on the eve of Pakistan Day.

The civilian awards were presented to 152 individuals for demonstrating excellence in various fields.

Among them, four great cricketers also received the Sitara-e-Imtiaz prize, the third highest civilian prize in the country. They were former captains Misbah-ul-Haq, Younis Khan and Shahid Afridi, and the current captain Sarfraz Ahmed.

Before them, only four cricketers had received the Sitara-e-Imtiaz for their services to the game: Javed Miandad in 1992, Inzamam ul Haq in 2005, Mohammad Yousuf in 2011 and Saeed Ajmal in 2015.

Pakistani captain Sarfraz Ahmed has become the youngest Pakistani cricket player to receive the award. He led Pakistan to the Champions title last year and was named captain of the national team in all formats of the game. He was awarded from the Governor of Sindh Mohammad Zubair at Governor's House in Karachi.