"Then We revived you after your death, so that you may be appreciative." (Al-Baqarah: 56)
  • Wednesday 25, November 2020
ACE News Logo

Fakhar resistance in vain as NZ win by 61 runs D/L

Fakhar resistance in vain as NZ win by 61 runs D/L

WELLINGTON: New Zealand have won the first one-day international (ODI) against Pakistan by 61 runs via the DLS method.

With New Zealand batting first, Pakistan were given a target of 316 runs. However, the match was stopped due to rain while Pakistan were at 166-6. 

Pakistan had won the toss and asked the opponent team to bat first.

In the given number of overs, New Zealand lost only seven wickets in their journey to 315 runs. Their captain Kane Williamson brilliantly bagged 115 runs, helping his team tremendously.

Hassan Ali of Pakistan took three wickets, while Mohammad Amir, Rumman Raees, Faheem Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman took one each.

With Pakistan batting now, they lost their first wicket at just six runs when Tim Southee took Azhar Ali's wicket.

Southee went on to take another wicket when he bowled out Babar Azam at seven runs. Trent Boult took the third, sending Mohammad Hafeez off the pitch.

Earlier, Pakistani skipper Sarfraz Ahmed had expressed hope that his team will continue its winning streak in the five-match ODI series against New Zealand.

“We have won nine matches in a row because we are playing as a unit, not individuals,” he had mentioned, just after the toss.

Pakistan made three changes in the final XI that took in Sri Lanka last October — its most recent ODI.

Opening batsman Azhar Ali has returned to the side in place of Imam ul Haq, while fast bowling duo Rumman Raees and Mohammad Aamir are back in place of injured Imad Wasim and Usman Khan Shinwari.



Sarfaraz Ahmed, Azhar Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Mohammad Hafeez, Faheem Ashraf, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Amir, Hasan Ali, and Rumman Raees

New Zealand

Kane Williamson, Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Ross Taylor, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Todd Astle, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Lockie Ferguson, and Trent Boult