"Then We revived you after your death, so that you may be appreciative." (Al-Baqarah: 56)
  • Tuesday 01, December 2020
ACE News Logo

Gaddafi Stadium Pakistan hosting: Peshawar Zalmi vs Quetta Gladiators, Eliminator 1

Gaddafi Stadium Pakistan hosting: Peshawar Zalmi vs Quetta Gladiators, Eliminator 1

The Lahore is all set to host the elimination matches of the Pakistan Super League which are going to play from today, Quetta Gladiators will take on Peshawar Zalmi in a rematch of last year’s final.

The teams have arrived and have been met with light showers. The MET office said that intermittent light showers will continue throughout the day in the city.

According to Accuweather, there is a 51 per cent chance of rain at 7pm which is when the match will start.

The match marks the return of Pakistan Super League (PSL) action to Lahore, after the historic city successfully hosted last year's final in front of a roaring crowd of thousands.

Today's encounter is a do-or-die for both: the losing team will get eliminated from the competition, while the winning team will play the qualifier's losing team in Lahore tomorrow (March 21).

Both Peshawar and Quetta have won 5 and lost 5 matches in this season's league stage, but Peshawar edged out Quetta on Net Run Rate to get the third spot on the points table.

In case the match is rained out, Peshawar Zalmi will face Karachi Kings in the second eliminator match with the winner facing Karachi Kings in the final in Karachi on March 25. 

Peshawar Zalmi

Head coach: Mohammad Akram

Captain: Darren Sammy

Squad: Darren Sammy (c), Tamim Iqbal, Kamran Akmal, Andre Fletcher, Riki Wessels, Hammad Azam, Haris Sohail, Khushdil Shah, Umaid Asif, Saad Nasim, Mohammad Hafeez, Shabbir Rahman, Liam Dawson, Sameen Gul, Hasan Ali, Chris Jordan, Mohammad Asghar, Wahab Riaz

Quetta Gladiators

Head coach: Moin Khan

Captain: Sarfraz Ahmed

Squad: Sarfraz Ahmed (c), Rilee Rossouw, Rameez Raja, Asad Shafiq, Umar Amin, Mohammad Nawaz, Mahmudullah, Thisara Perera, Chris Green,  Saad Ali, Saud Shakeel, Anwar Ali, Hassan Khan, Mir Hamza, Rahat Ali, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Johnson Charles