"Then We revived you after your death, so that you may be appreciative." (Al-Baqarah: 56)
  • Thursday 03, December 2020
ACE News Logo

General Election 2018: Senior PPP leader Nawab Sher Waseer joins PTI

General Election 2018: Senior PPP leader Nawab Sher Waseer joins PTI

Former Member National Assembly (MNA) and senior leader of Pakistan Peoples Party’s (PPP), Malik Nawab Sher Waseer joins Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI). It is a big loss for PPP it has lost one of the most loyal leader in district Faisalabad. The district of   Faisalabad used to be the strong hold of PPP in 1970s, 1980s and early 1990s but situation started to change since then. PPP failed to win even a single seat from this district in 2013 elections.   He belongs to the Jaranwala Tehsil of Faisalabad district and had a long time affiliation and commitment with PPP. He joined the party in difficult times of 1980s and remained loyal with party for nearly three decades.

He was elected MPA twice in 1988 and 1993 on PPP ticket. He twice lost the election in 1990 and 1997. He lost the national assembly election in 2002 against Ch. Wasi Zafar of PML-Q.

He won the national assembly election from NA-76 Faisalabad ii in 2008 elections. He secured 43294 votes and defeated influential candidate Ch Zahid Nazir of Nazir family. Ch. Zahid Nazir got 41068 votes. He lost the election in 2013 against Talal Chaudhry of PML-N with huge margin of 65000 votes. He got more than 35,000 votes while Talal Ch secured 101797 votes.

ACE NEWS election cell