"Then We revived you after your death, so that you may be appreciative." (Al-Baqarah: 56)
  • Sunday 29, November 2020
ACE News Logo

General Election 2018: Shahbaz Sharif elected PML-N president unopposed

General Election 2018: Shahbaz Sharif elected PML-N president unopposed

Shahbaz Sharif, the Chief Minister Punjab and younger brother of former prime minister Nawaz Sharif has been elected unopposed as new president of PML-N in a general council meeting in Islamabad. No one submitted nomination papers for president against Shahbaz Sharif. He has already been declared the PML-N candidate for the prime minister in the 2018 general elections. Now Shahbaz Sharif has become official leader of PML-N. Shahbaz Sharif was the president of PML-N during the Musharaf regime. Nawaz Sharif was disqualified to hold the position of party president after amending the law. Shahbaz Sharif now fully authorises to use his powers as party president. Shahbaz Sharif is facing the uphill task to win the 2018 general elections.     The general council’s meeting was scheduled for March 6. However, it had to be postponed for a week as Shahbaz Sharif had fallen ill.

PML-N was forced to elect new president of the party after the Supreme Court decision last month to barred former leader Nawaz Sharif from leading the party. The Supreme Court decision made it clear that disqualified person under the article 62 and 63 of the constitution cannot lead the party.

Nawaz Sharif was ousted by Supreme Court as prime minister in July in the Panama case under article 62 of the constitution. The Supreme Court also ordered to file corruption references in the accountability Court.