"Then We revived you after your death, so that you may be appreciative." (Al-Baqarah: 56)
  • Wednesday 25, November 2020
ACE News Logo

General Election 2018: Six-member Federal Caretaker Cabinet sworn at Pakistan

General Election 2018: Six-member Federal Caretaker Cabinet sworn at Pakistan

A six-member Caretaker Federal Cabinet took oath at a ceremony at Aiwan-e-Sadr on Tuesday

President Mamnoon Hussain administered an oath of office to the members of the cabinet.

Those who took oath today include Dr. Shamshad Akhtar, Mrs. Roshan Khurshid, Barrister Ali Zafar, Abdullah Hussain Haroon, Azam Khan and Muhammad Yousaf Sheikh.

The ceremony was attended, among others, by Caretaker Prime Minister retired Justice Nasir-ul-Mulk. After the oath-taking ceremony, the caretaker prime minister and his cabinet members also held a meeting with President Mamnoon Hussain.

In his remarks, the President expressed the confidence that the caretaker set up will fulfill its responsibilities regarding the conduct of free, fair and transparent elections in the country. He said the cabinet comprises of a seasoned and experienced lot who will not only uphold rule of law but also come up to the expectations of the people.

The President said it is a matter of satisfaction that a democratically elected government completed its tenure for the second time. Cabinet Division has issued a notification allotting portfolios to the newly sworn-in caretaker cabinet members.

Abdullah Hussain Haroon has been assigned the portfolio of Foreign Affairs and National Food Security. An additional charge of Ministries of Defence and Defence Production has also been entrusted to him.

Shamshad Akhtar has been made Minister for Finance, Statistics and Planning and Development. An additional charge of Ministry of Commerce and Industries and Production has also been given to her.

Azam Khan has been handed over the portfolio of ministries of Interior, CADD, and Narcotics. Additional Charge of Inter Provincial Coordination has also been given to him.

Syed Ali Zafar has been assigned the portfolio of Ministry of Law and Justice as well as that of the Parliamentary Affairs and Information and Broadcasting.

Muhammad Yousaf Sheikh has been given the ministries of health, Education, and Religious Affairs. Mrs. Roshan Khurshid has been assigned the portfolios of Human Rights, SAFRON and Kashmir and Gilgit-Baltistan Affairs.