"Then We revived you after your death, so that you may be appreciative." (Al-Baqarah: 56)
  • Wednesday 25, November 2020
ACE News Logo

Kohli Named ICC Cricketer of the Year; Also Bags ODI Cricketer Award

Kohli Named ICC Cricketer of the Year; Also Bags ODI Cricketer Award

New Delhi: Though nothing is going Indian skipper Virat Kohli's way in the ongoing series against South Africa, there is finally something to cheer about for the Indian fans as the star batsman has won the Sir Garfield Sobers Cricketer of the year, and ICC ODI cricketer of the year awards for his achievements in the year 2017. 

Virat Kohli led his team from the front as Indian ended 2017 without suffering a single series defeat, across all formats. The only low point of the year for Kohli and his team came in the final of the 2017 ICC Champions Trophy, where the 'Men in Blue' lost to arch rivals Pakistan in the final.

Kohli aggregated a massive 1460 runs in 26 ODI innings at a superlative average of 76.84; crossing the century mark six times and slamming seven half-centuries. These achievements were enough to land him the ODI player of the year.

The Indian captain was equally good in Test matches, despite a below average series against Australia on home turf. Kohli scored 1059 runs in 16 innings at an average of 75.64, with the help of five centuries and one one-half-century.

To go with that, ICC listed out Kohli's achievements and even tipped him to surpass Sachin Tendulkar's record of 49 ODI tons. ICC wrote, "At the age of 29, he has already scored 32 ODI centuries and has his hero Sachin Tendulkar’s all-time record of 49 well and truly in his sights. It is surely just a matter of time before he surpasses the Little Master, particularly if he keeps churning out runs as he did in 2017."

Kohli posted a video message after bagging the awards, and said that he was honoured to win the Sir Garfield Sobers award. Also, his winning spree did not stop at just these two awards. He made it to the ICC Test team and ODI team of the year, and was chosen as the skipper for both the teams.

The awards were instituted in the year 2004. Kohli has now become the fourth Indian after Rahul Dravid (2004), Sachin Tendulkar (2010) and Ravichandran Ashwin (2016) to win the prestigious Cricketer of the year award. Being the ODI colossus that he is, this is the second time after 2012 that Virat Kohli has been named the ODI Cricketer of the year.