"Then We revived you after your death, so that you may be appreciative." (Al-Baqarah: 56)
  • Saturday 28, November 2020
ACE News Logo

Munro blasts record century as NZ crush West Indies

Munro blasts record century as NZ crush West Indies

MOUNT MAUNGANUI, New Zealand: Colin Munro smashed his way into the record books as New Zealand crushed the West Indies by 119 runs in the final Twenty20 at Mount Maunganui on Wednesday to sweep the series.

Munro, with a rollicking 104 off 53 deliveries, became the first player to hit three centuries in international Twenty20 cricket as New Zealand posted an imposing 243 for five, their highest Twenty20 total.

The West Indies reply began disastrously with openers Chadwick Walton and Chris Gayle out without scoring in Tim Southee’s opening over.Their innings folded at 124 for nine in 16.3 overs with Shai Hope unable to bat after being injured while fielding.

It ended a disappointing tour for the West Indies with New Zealand winning both Tests, the three One-day Internationals and two Twenty20s with one match washed out.With the West Indies two down for one run after five balls, Andre Fletcher did his best to rebuild the innings and ensured the tourists kept up with New Zealand’s run rate for the first eight overs. But the introduction of spin saw Fletcher’s innings come to an end.

He was bowled by Ish Sodhi for 46, and the momentum fizzled. Munro lasted until the first ball of the last over when he drove a Carlos Brathwaite full toss straight to Shimron Hetmyer at long on.

New Zealand won toss

New Zealand

M J Guptill c Walton b Emrit 63

C Munro c Hetmyer b Brathwaite 104

T C Bruce b Brathwaite 23

A K Kitchen run out 9

*K S Williamson b Taylor 19

†G D Phillips not out 7

M J Santner not out 6

Extras (lb 4, nb 1, w 7) 12

Total (5 wickets; 20 Overs) 243

Did not bat: D A J Bracewell, T G Southee, I S Sodhi, T A Boult

Fall: 1-136, 2-191, 3-204, 4-226, 5-226

Bowling: Taylor 4-0-53-1; Badree 4-0-51-0; Nurse 4-0-43-0; Brathwaite 4-0-50-2; Emrit 4-0-42-1

West Indies

†C A K Walton c Munro b Southee 0

C H Gayle c Phillips b Southee 0

A D S Fletcher b Sodhi 46

R Powell c Williamson b Kitchen 16

S O Hetmyer run out 7

*C R Brathwaite c Bruce b Boult 15

A R Nurse not out 14

R R Emrit lbw b Sodhi 5

J E Taylor c Santner b Boult 13

S Badree c Bruce b Southee 2

S D Hope absent hurt

Extras (nb 2, w 4) 6

Total (all-out; 16.3 Overs) 124

Fall: 1-0, 2-1, 3-42, 4-49, 5-80, 6-92, 7-99, 8-114, 9-124

Bowling: Southee 2.3-0-21-3; Boult 4-0-29-2; Kitchen 4-0-33-1; Santner 2-0-16-0; Sodhi 4-0-25-2

Result: New Zealand won by 119 runs

Series: New Zealand won the 3-match series by 2-0

Man of the Match: C Munro (NZ)

Man of the Series: C Munro (NZ)

T20I debut: R R Emrit (West Indies)

Umpires: S Haig and W Knights (New Zealand). TV Umpires: C Brown (New Zealand). Match Referee: A Pycroft (South Africa)