"Then We revived you after your death, so that you may be appreciative." (Al-Baqarah: 56)
  • Friday 04, December 2020
ACE News Logo

NZ complete series whitewash over Pakistan

NZ complete series whitewash over Pakistan

WELLINGTON, New Zealand: New Zealand inflicted a rare 5-0 One-day International (ODI) series whitewash over Pakistan on Friday with a 15-run win at Wellington’s Basin Reserve.

A century to Martin Guptill helped the Black Caps set a 272 total that proved too much for Pakistan after Matt Henry tore through their top order.

Pakistan were all out for 256 with one over remaining.It is only the third time Pakistan have been on the wrong end of a 5-0 ODI clean sweep after they succumbed by the same margin to Australia in 2010 and the West Indies in 1988.

New Zealand have won by a 5-0 margin only once before, when they hosted the West Indies in 2000.The result extends New Zealand’s winning streak in all forms of the game to 12 matches, a record for the team, and means they are undefeated at home since March last year.

The target should have been achievable, given the short boundaries at the Basin Reserve, but speedster Matt Henry ensured Pakistan made a disastrous start.Called up to give Trent Boult a break, Henry made the most of his opportunity to take three wickets in three overs and skittle the tourists’ top order.

He ended with figures of four for 53, while spinner Mitchell Santner took three for 40.Pakistan slumped to 57 for five before Haris Sohail and Shadab Khan combined for a 105-run partnership that steadied the innings.

It ended when Sohail tried to loft the ball over the fence but misread Santner’s slower delivery and instead offered Henry a straightforward catch.His departure on 63, with Shadab following soon after on 54, seemingly ended Pakistan’s faint hopes of victory.

But the tail wagged as Faheem Ashraf (23), Aamer Yamin (32) and Mohammad Nawaz (23) all made late cameos that left the tourists on nine for 249 and needing 23 off the final two overs.The lack of wickets ultimately proved costly when Rumman Raees was dismissed with six balls remaining.

Earlier, Guptill scored his 13th ODI century, combining with Colin Munro to give the hosts a flying start before Rumman Raees helped spark a mini-collapse, taking three for 67.

Munro racked up 34 from 24 balls before edging Rumman to Mohammad Nawaz.While Munro’s departure slowed the run rate, Guptill was content to steadily accumulate.He lost a life on 72 when he slipped over mid-wicket and Faheem Ashraf missed the stumps as the batsman scrambled back to the crease on his hands and knees.

It gave his innings greater urgency and he brought up his century off 125 balls, including 10 fours and a six.After a frustrating morning, Pakistan’s attack enjoyed some late success when they took four wickets for 12 runs.Guptill was dismissed soon after he reached triple figures and Faheem clean-bowled Ross Taylor to end a threatening knock on 59.

New Zealand won toss

New Zealand

M J Guptill c Hafeez b Rumman 100

C Munro c Nawaz b Rumman 34

*K S Williamson c Umar b Aamer 22

L R P L Taylor b Faheem 59

C de Grandhomme not out 29

H M Nicholls c Fakhar b Rumman 1

†T W M Latham c Sarfraz b Faheem 2

M J Santner run out 1

T G Southee not out 14

Extras (lb 6, w 3) 9

Total (7 wickets; 50 Overs) 271

Did not bat: M J Henry, L H Ferguson

Fall: 1-52, 2-101, 3-213, 4-232, 5-239, 6-243, 7-244

Bowling: Aamer 9-0-65-1; Rumman 10-0-67-3; Nawaz(3) 10-1-43-0; Faheem 9-0-49-2; Shadab 10-0-35-0; Umar 2-0-6-0


Fakhar Zaman c Williamson b Henry 12

Umar Amin c Taylor b Henry 2

Babar Azam c Guptill b Henry 10

Haris Sohail c Henry b Santner 63

M Hafeez c Munro b Ferguson 6

*†Sarfraz Ahmed c Taylor b de Grandhomme 3

Shadab Khan c Nicholls b Santner 54

Faheem Ashraf c Southee b Santner 23

Aamer Yamin not out 32

M Nawaz(3) b Ferguson 23

Rumman Raees c Ferguson b Henry 5

Extras (lb 5, w 18) 23

Total (all-out; 49 Overs) 256

Fall: 1-14, 2-19, 3-31, 4-52, 5-57, 6-162, 7-171, 8-202, 9-235, 10-256

Bowling: Southee 9-0-46-0; Henry 10-1-53-4; de Grandhomme 10-0-48-1; Ferguson 10-0-64-2; Santner 10-0-40-3

Result: New Zealand won by 15 runs

Series: New Zealand clean sweep series

Man of the Match: M Guptill (New Zealand)

Man of the Series: M Guptill (New Zealand)

Umpires: C Brown (New Zealand) and R Palliyaguruge (Sri Lanka). TV Umpires: R Illingworth (England). Match Referee: Sir R Richardson (West Indies)