"Then We revived you after your death, so that you may be appreciative." (Al-Baqarah: 56)
  • Friday 04, December 2020
ACE News Logo

Pakistan Registered First-Ever Whitewash Against Australia

Pakistan Registered First-Ever Whitewash Against Australia

Pakistan on Sunday (Oct 28) beat Australia by 33 runs in the third and final Twenty20 international in Dubai and registered it’s first-ever whitewash against Australia in a limited-over series

Pakistan made 150-5 in their 20 overs with Babar Azam (50), Sahibzada Farhan (39), and Mohammad Hafeez (32 not out) their main run scorers.

In reply, Australia was bowled out for 117 in 19.1 overs, with Ben McDermott and Mitchell Marsh scoring 21 each. Spinner Shadab Khan took 3-19.

Sarfraz said the series win was "a reward for hard work"."I would say that all the boys have worked hard in all facets, the result is just the reward," said Sarfraz. "Whoever has got an opportunity has done well. We wanted to carry forward the momentum to the New Zealand series; the way we bowled and took our catches was superb tonight."

"We had our chances in all three games," said Finch. "You back yourself while chasing under 150, you back your batsmen to get the side over the line but it didn't happen.

"Our bowling was very impressive all series, keeping them to below 150 was great. We're looking forward to a tough series against South Africa (at home)."

Pakistan will next face New Zealand in a three-match T20 series starting October 31. The T20 series will be followed by a three-match one-day international series with matches on November 7, 9 and 11.

Pakistan: Sarfraz Ahmed (capt), Sahibzada Farhan, Mohammad Hafeez, Babar Azam, Asif Ali, Shoaib Malik, Shadab Khan, Usman Shinwari, Hasan Ali, Imad Wasim, Faheem Ashraf.

Australia: Aaron Finch (capt), Alex Carey, Mitchell Marsh, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, Ben McDermott, D'Arcy Short, Billy Stanlake, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa.
Umpires: Shozab Raza (PAK) and Rashid Riaz (PAK).