"Then We revived you after your death, so that you may be appreciative." (Al-Baqarah: 56)
  • Saturday 28, November 2020
ACE News Logo

Pakistan Super League 2018: Towards its Ending

Pakistan Super League 2018: Towards its Ending

Islamabad United, Karachi Kings, Peshawar Zalmi and Quetta Gladiators are the four teams remaining in the tournament with the action in the UAE concluding on Sunday before the action moves to Pakistan for the final games.

The Pakistan Super League has reached its business end at Dubai, with Islamabad United taking on Karachi Kings in the first qualifier final at Dubai International Stadium on Sunday night.

Further for this season lets have a look what is to come and what to watch for in the remaining week of the tournament.

Sunday, March 18

Qualifier, Dubai International Stadium: Islamabad United v Karachi Kings (Done)

Tuesday, March 20

Eliminator 1, Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore: Peshawar Zalmi v Quetta Gladiators

Wednesday, March 21

Eliminator 2, Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore: Losers of the qualifier v winners of eliminator 1

Sunday, March 25

Final, National Stadium, Karachi: Winners of the qualifier v winners of eliminator 2

The six-team PSL 3 has been trimmed down to four. The playoffs use a system similar to the Indian Premier League, rather than the more conventional, first-plays-fourth and second-plays-third format used in football and rugby, for example.

Islamabad and Karachi finished first and second in the regular season table. As such, they meet in the first qualifier match. The winners go directly through to the final in Karachi on Sunday March 25.

The losers get a second chance – reward for finish the season placed higher in the table than the other two teams – in the second eliminator on Wednesday.

The first eliminator is a repeat of last year’s final between Peshawar, the defending champions, and Quetta, in Lahore on Tuesday.

As with last year, there will be some notable absentees when the competition decamps to Pakistan from Dubai.

The teams leave on Tuesday morning. Peshawar will keep most of their overseas stars, which was a key part of their success last year, with only Dwayne Smith opting out. Shakib Al Hasan will replace him.

By contrast, Quetta will definitely be without their batting kingpin, Kevin Pietersen. The storied former England batsman confirmed he would not be going to Pakistan by confirming his retirement from cricket when the playoffs were confirmed. “Boots up! Thank you!” he wrote in a tweet on Friday.