"Then We revived you after your death, so that you may be appreciative." (Al-Baqarah: 56)
  • Tuesday 01, December 2020
ACE News Logo

Pakistan vs England 1st Test Match

Pakistan vs England 1st Test Match

The 1st test match of 2 match series of Pakistan vs England is going to play today at 3pm.

The weather in the lead-up to the game has been fine and sunny although some wet weather is forecast on the first day of the game itself. As is usual at Lord's in early season, some movement for the seamers is expected on the first day before the pitch flattens out into a good batting wicket on days two and three as the weather improves.

There were five uncapped players in the squad Pakistan named for this trip, two of whom were given debuts in the one-off Test against Ireland at Malahide, and the squad is heavily reliant on captain Sarfraz Ahmed.

Opening batsman Azhar Ali and left-arm quick Mohammad Amir who has been pronounced 100% fit after an injury scare. Despite fine performances from Mohammad Abbas with the ball and Imam-ul-Haq with the bat against Ireland, Pakistan will need Ahmed, Amir and Azhar to have impressive series if they are to compete at Lord's and Headingley.

England have lost just two of their last 19 series at home and they face an inexperienced Pakistan team shorn of several key players from that which contested the drawn series of 2016.

A team containing Misbah-ul-Haq as captain, Younis Khan and Yasir Shah held England to a 2-2 draw in a captivating series but none of those players are on this tour because of either retirement or injury. This time around, the batting line-up in particular looks wet behind the ears and Shah's absence leaves the bowling attack light on guile.


England squad for first Test:

Alastair Cook, Mark Stoneman, Dawid Malan, Joe Root (capt), Jonny Bairstow (wk), Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood, Stuart Broad, James Anderson, Dom Bess.

Pakistan Test squad:

Sarfraz Ahmed (capt, wk), Asad Shafiq, Azhar Ali, Babar Azam, Faheem Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Sohail, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Abbas, Mohammad Amir, Rahat Ali, Saad Ali, Sami Aslam, Shadab Khan, Usman Salahuddin.