"Then We revived you after your death, so that you may be appreciative." (Al-Baqarah: 56)
  • Tuesday 01, December 2020
ACE News Logo

PSL 2018: The defeat of Lahore Qalandar was won by Karachi Kings

PSL 2018: The defeat of Lahore Qalandar was won by Karachi Kings

DUBAI: Karachi Kings sank their claws into the top spot of PSL 2018 points table after beating Lahore Qalandars by 27 runs to post their third consecutive victory in the eighth match of PSL-2018 at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium on Monday.

Karachi is the only team with a perfect record in the PSL 2018 so far, maintaining their undefeated streak to lead the points table.

While batting first after winning the toss, Karachi Kings set 160 runs for Lahore Qalandars as Ravi Bopara smashed an unbeaten fifty to steer them to a good total.  Whereas Qalandars fall short by 27 runs to 132.

Lahore Qalandars seemed to overturn their poor start in the tournament, only to falter in a chase of 160 that had been set up by a Powerplay where they scored 68 runs. McCullum’s 44 runs also went in vain, as the man of the match Shahid Afridi who took three wickets and put Qalandars under enough pressure to restrict them to 132 runs.

Lahore's could not stay on the wicket as they were out to poor shots.  While McCullum was the only one who played a sensible inning, adding 44  to Lahore's 132.

The stunning moment of the match came when  Denly leaped to his right taking one of the best catches of the tournament at backward point.

Captain Imad Wasim also supported his team with the ball taking a crucial breakthrough.

Karachi Kings had made one change, bringing in Usman Khan Shenwari to replace the injured Mohammad Amir.

The Qalandars had made three changes in their team as Sohail Khan, Dinesh Ramdin and Agha Salman replaced Gulraiz Sadaf, Raza Hasan, and Cameron Delport.


Karachi Kings: Khurram Manzoor, Joe Denly, Babar Azam, Colin Ingram, Ravi Bopara, Mohammad Rizwan, Imad Wasim (captain), Shahid Afridi, Usman Khan Shenwari, Tymal Mills, Mohammad Irfan Jr

Lahore Qalandars: Brandan McCullum (captain), Sunil Narine, Fakhar Zaman, Umar Akmal, Sohail Akhtar, Dinesh Ramdin, Agha Salman, Yasir Shah, Sohail Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Mustafizur Rahman