"Then We revived you after your death, so that you may be appreciative." (Al-Baqarah: 56)
  • Tuesday 24, November 2020
ACE News Logo

Sri Lanka bounce back as bowlers dominate opening day

Sri Lanka bounce back as bowlers dominate opening day

DHAKA: Sri Lanka hit back with four wickets after being bowled out for 222 as bowlers led by Bangladesh spinner Abdur Razzak dominated day one of the second Test in Dhaka on Thursday.

Razzak, making a Test return after four years, and fellow left-arm spinner Taijul Islam claimed four wickets each to wrap up the Sri Lankan innings shortly after tea.Sri Lanka paceman Suranga Lakmal then picked up two wickets to leave the hosts tottering at 56-4 at stumps. Liton Das, on 24, and nightwatchman Mehedi Miraz, on five, were batting at close of play.

Lakmal drew first blood after taking a return catch off his own bowling to remove Tamim Iqbal for four in just the third ball of the Bangladesh innings.But it was Mominul Haque’s run out in the very next over that left the hosts in trouble. Haque, who scored centuries in both innings of the drawn first Test in Chittagong, returned without scoring.

Lakmal then bowled Mushfiqur Rahim for one before Dilruwan Perera ended the brief resistance of Imrul Kayes, who made 19.Earlier 35-year-old Razzak returned impressive figures of 4-63 to land the opening punch for Bangladesh after the visitors elected to bat first.

Taijul complemented Razzak’s effort and claimed the final wicket of Roshen Silva, who made 56 after Kusal Mendis top-scored with 68 for the Sri Lanka.

Silva was involved in two dogged partnerships with Perera (31) and Akila Dananjaya (20) against a persistent Bangladesh bowling attack.

Razzak, who played the last of his previous 12 Tests in 2014, struck three times in the morning session including getting skipper Dinesh Chandimal for a first-ball duck. Mendis brought up his 50 in 81 balls with a six off Taijul.

Sri Lanka won toss

Sri Lanka

K Mendis b Razzak 68

D Karunaratne st Liton b Razzak 3

D de Silva c Sabbir b Taijul 19

D Gunathilaka c Rahim b Razzak 13

*D Chandimal b Razzak 0

R Silva c Liton b Taijul 56

†N Dickwella b Taijul 1

D Perera c Mominul b Taijul 31

A Dananjaya c Mushfiqur b Mustafizur 20

R Herath c Mushfiqur b Mustafizur 2

S Lakmal not out 4

Extras (lb 5) 5

Total (all out; 65.3 overs) 222

Fall: 1-14, 2-61, 3-96, 4-96, 5-109, 6-110, 7-162, 8-205, 9-207, 10-222

Bowling: Mehedi 13-0-54-0, Razzak 16-2-63-4, Taijul 25.3-2-83-4, Mustafizur 11-4-17-2


Tamim Iqbal c & b Lakmal 4

Imrul Kayes lbw b Perera 19

Mominul Haque run out 0

†Mushfiqur Rahim b Lakmal 1

Liton Das not out 24

Mehedi Hasan not out 5

Extras (lb1, w1, nb1) 3

Total (4 wickets, 22 overs) 56

To bat: Sabbir Rahman, *Mahmudullah Riyad, Abdur Razzak, Taijul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman

Fall: 1-4, 2-4, 3-12, 4-45

Bowling: Lakmal 7-3-15-2 (w1), Perera 8-3-25-1 (nb1), Dananjaya 3-1-4-0, Herath 4-0-11-0

Umpires: Joel Wilson (West Indies) and Rod Tucker (Australia). TV Umpire: Marais Erasmus (South Africa). Match referee: David Boon (Australia)