"Then We revived you after your death, so that you may be appreciative." (Al-Baqarah: 56)
  • Monday 30, November 2020
ACE News Logo

Tariq elected Australian Football League Pakistan president

Tariq elected Australian Football League Pakistan president

KARACHI: Sardar Tariq Mehmood and Chaudhry Zulfiqar Ali have been unanimously elected as president and secretary of Australian Football League Pakistan for the next four years.

According to a press release, the general council meeting of the Australian Football League Pakistan held in Islamabad the other day elected all office-bearers unanimously.

Tariq has said that all possible steps would be taken for the promotion of Australian Football League Pakistan in the country. He said that the National Championship would be held in March at Islamabad. He also said that the executive committee meeting would be held the next week.

The federation was formed a couple of years back to promote Australian football-2, or footy. It is a contact sport played between two teams of eighteen players on an oval-shaped field, often a modified cricket ground. Points are scored by kicking the oval-shaped ball between the opposing goal posts (worth six points) or behind posts (worth one point).Senior Vice-President: Raja Nazeemul Ameen Vice-Presidents: Col (R) Amjad, Raja Nadeem Khairat, Dr Muhammad Shahbaz.

Deputy Secretary General: Syed Sharafat Hussain Bukhari Finance Secretary: Muhammad Ashfaq ExCo: Shafqat Niazi, Shahid Ahmed, Irfan Khan and Zubair Ahmed.