"Then We revived you after your death, so that you may be appreciative." (Al-Baqarah: 56)
  • Tuesday 01, December 2020
ACE News Logo

UAE to be host Asia Cup 2018

UAE to be host Asia Cup 2018

The upcoming Asia Cup, which was set to be played in India, has been moved to the United Arab Emirates due to tensions between the governments of India and Pakistan, as per the decision taken by the Executive Board of the Asian Cricket Council in Kuala Lumpur on Tuesday. The tournament, set to be played from September 13 to 28, will be hosted by India in Dubai and Abu Dhabi.

The 2018 edition of the Asia Cup will be a six-team affair with the five member nations - India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Afghanistan - along with a sixth country among UAE, Hong Kong, Nepal and Oman, which will be decided via a playoff.

The decision came following protest from Pakistan that if India refuses to send its players to the country for the ACC Emerging Teams' Asia Cup, it won't send its players to India for Asia Cup. The Emerging Teams' Asia Cup will now be co-hosted by Pakistan and Sri Lanka, with the latter set to host the majority of the matches. The tournament has, however, been shifted from April to December.

The ACC board also proposed to have the next annual general meeting in Lahore later this year.